Runners

Gardening in autumn has changed. As a seasonal gardener, I am now much more likely to plant young plants, such as lavender and rosemary at this time of the year, than I would in spring.

We have had some very dry springs, followed by dry summers, and having paid attention to them for several years now, and seen the effect of the weather on various gardens, locally, I have decided to do some autumn planting this year. Usually, I wait until spring.

We planted this in
late July, and harvested the beans in September
Runner bean flanked by Jasmine: July 2020

Why not try this yourself? At least there should be some rain to help you on your way with the settling in period for the roots.

I’ve been rooting some salvia, rosemary and lavender from cuttings I took earlier this year.

I will let you know how the beds are getting on in the spring.

For now, here are some photos of the gardens this September. Don’t they look lovely?

This looks like a viburnam, although I am not sure. (It has responded well to my careful shaping with pruning shears.) Look at those dropping berries – complete with bauble to match them, and with mahonia looking on

Do let me know if you recognise this shrub. The loose unclustered berries are quite unusual.

Thought you might like to feast your eyes on my topiary

And here is something Christmassy looking to get you in the mood for some shopping:

Yew, resplendent with autumn berries. Very poisonous!
My prize pink hollyhocks (Alcea Rosea).
A small bed I am working on in Stroud. Lavender grown from a cutting with moon daisies and sedum bringing up the rear. I have planted this bed for year round colour. Watch this space for the nigella next spring.

Herb gardens are a must, whatever size your garden is. You can use pots if you haven’t room. They bring scent and are green havens. Always plant rosemary for some height and soft sculpture.

Here is a herb garden I planted last spring. Mint, sage, rosemary, and chives all happy in September, and some lemon trees, grown from seed to add interest. (Cover the lemon trees with a cloche in winter.)
In the far corner is a pot of lemon balm, which I move to a sheltered spot in the winter. The Philadelphus here seen in the background is an old plant with delicate blooms in late summer. One I had forgotten about, which my client has been looking after for years.

All photographs on this blog are by the author and all rights to the photographs are reserved.

Leave a comment